My favourite Shrek quotes

Shrek may be known as a bad movie but in my eyes it perfection. Like who doesn’t want to watch a movie about a green ogre that wants these fairytale creatures out of his swamp because some 2 foot lord kicked them all there. Shrek is also known for his many inspirational quotes and meanings behind the movie so here are some of my favourite.

Shrek and the Reinvented Fairy Tale | Clayton County Library System

1. “This’ll be fun. We’ll stay up late, swapping manly stories, and in the morning… I’m making waffles!” – Donkey

To me this quote shows how strange friendships can form. A ogre and a donkey isn’t the most known friendship in fairytales. But I think it shows people how you don’t have to be the same to be friends because Donkey and Shrek are basically complete opposites but throughout the movie they start to form this bond between themselves.

Shrek's Donkey Rips Into Fan Wearing Minnie Mouse Ears at Universal

2. “Ogres are like onions, they have many layers” – Shrek

This quote shows how many people seem different then they actually are, this could be good or bad. In the movie Shrek starts to warm up to Donkey and it’s like Donkey is slowly peeling off Shrek’s “layers” and finding out who he truly is. This shows that people aren’t always like they seem.

SHREK Clip - "Onions" (2001) Mike Myers - YouTube

3. The ogre gets the girl

In Shrek, Shrek has to save the princess for the Lord but as they are walking back to his kingdom they start to fall inlove. Fiona doesn’t care that Shrek is a ogre the whole time and just cares about his personality. I think this shows how in the end it doesn’t really matter on someone’s looks butt their personality.

Photos from Top 10 Most Magical Movie Weddings - E! Online - CA

4. “And my groom to be lord, what’s he like?” – Fiona

To me this reference shows are in classic fairytales the princess or girl is expected to do nothing and have “her” knight come and save her from whatever the cause might be. As the movie goes on you can tell the changes in her attitude. Fiona goes from relaying on her prince in the beginning of the movie. She complains about how Shrek saved her isn’t right as even wants to go back to her tower and wait for a different man to come save her.

Things Only Adults Notice In Shrek

That’s all I have to say about this very inspirational movie quotes and refences, and what I have learned is Shrek isn’t actually that inspirational as I thought because I couldn’t even name 5.

Click here for the Wikipedia page

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shrek

Leave a Reply